Weather is a touch cooler now….

Is it really THAT long since my last blog?  I set out with good intention of not too frequent but regular….  the road to heaven, they say, is paved with ‘good intention’.

Cooler – I should coco!  Winter is early, hard (-13 degrees here on Friday night) and sharp.  We’ve had about an inch of snow and it’s dry.  At the beginning of the month it was so mild but now everything outdoors has had to adjust to freezing conditions in the space of a few short weeks.  I feel for the animals, furred, feathered or otherwise.  I hope the farmers can get to their herds and that all cows/sheep/horses/goats etc have shelter.  I worry about the elephants and other exotics in the wildlife parks, but particularly the hefelumps as I have a soft spot for them.  I even worried about the worms in the wormery so they get put under the compost heap and I start again in the spring.

Well I am a female and we have to have something to worry about don’t we?

At home I have wood piles, upturned flower pots, uncleared areas and I left plenty of ivy on the walls, to provide cover – I’ll thin it out in the spring (but not when the birds are nesting) and I can live with that.

I have been feeding the birds for a few days now.  I don’t start too early as, frankly, it gets quite expensive but also because we are rural and there was plenty in the hedgerows and in the air even a week ago.  I could sit here and watch the birds for ages – it was a feeding frenzy this morning until a few moments ago when it suddenly went quiet.  I cant see anything (like next door’s cats) which would have scared them off – so maybe (hopefully) they have had their fill!

This morning’s visitors were: A gloriously coloured cock pheasant, greedy pigeons, squabbling starlings, house sparrows, dunnocks, cheeky chaffinches, great, blue and coal tits, nuthatch, greenfinch and a couple of robins. The blackbirds are up the other end of the garden, feeding off windfall apples, so they are OK.  The long-tailed tits have not found us yet this year (not that I’ve noticed anyway) and I haven’t seen the tree creeper since I actually put food out!  Hardly seen many thrushes this year at all – and none for a many weeks now.
I will move the nyjer seed feeder and hopefully get a few other finches (the teasels are still standing so probably still some seed left there too).  I have never seen a wren take food from the table although they are frequent visitors in the garden.

I do not mind at all if wood-mice or even the field rats come down for food at this time of year.  We get the odd squirrel, but I don’t put out peanuts any more as the squirrels wreck the bird feeders and they never got the hang of the specific nut feeder I had for them – they obviously didn’t read the book!

I know there is a large toad out there as I disturbed him a couple of weeks ago so had to hastily create a new abode over him.  I have some small frogs in my greenhouse which I am trying to keep just frost free.  As soon as the weather breaks I will insulate it with bubble wrap but this cold caught me out and it is already packed with plants, some definitely tender and some border line that I don’t want to lose.  I’m not risking it this year having lost both Phormiums* and my bay tree last.

Between you, me and the gate post, I don’t have a very good record with the greenhouse as I tend to forget to water.  It is best to keep plants as dry as possible, they will withstand lower temperatures that way, but they DO need a little drink every now and again.   It is also important to vent the greenhouse when ever possible and remove anything going rotten or growing mould A.S.A.P.

I spent several hours packing my little plants (stuff in pots I should have planted out but not got around to yet) onto various staging in the shelter of a stone wall, or the oil tank or my greenhouse.  I made bamboo cane ‘structures’ over them and wrapped them with fleece, which I wouldn’t normally do.  It may be a case of shutting the gate after the horse has bolted….but its so cold so early!  As soon as it warms a bit I will uncover them as I want to grow them ‘hard’.  But the structures are now there if we get more severe weather. Heath Robinson has nothing on me!

My potted Hostas are very tough but I have always snuggled them together in the lee of a wall – and they always come through.  Same with the daylilies, Hemerocallis, which I WILL get into the ground next year – nag me please?  Other large pots are pushed close to the house wall for protection.

These days you can buy fleece ‘jackets’ for plants but I think I’ll buy a large roll and try ‘running’ some up on the sewing machine.  I’ll let you know if it works!  The advantage of fleece is that it breathes, it lets moisture and light through – and its easy.  Traditionally straw was used but its a right fiddle.

*Coming back to the Phormiums… they are actually (generally) pretty hardy but they do not like snow freezing in their crown.  I KNOW this, yet last year I didn’t go and tie them up so that snow couldn’t sit in the crown; consequence 2 dead Phormiums! RIP

The sun is breaking through here, and I can just see the outline of Long Mountain to the North.  I cant see the Stiperstones to the south as there is fog lying in the valley between.  But I must stop window gazing now as a VAT return for Triple Link beckons.

Post note: Having said rarely squirrels – there is one doing acrobatics in next doors tree.  We overlook part of their garden (and washing line which is usually full – like living in Coronation Street – but not today, not unless you want stiff knickers anyway! Pet hates!)

BUT there is one animal who loves the cold; Zak the Collie spent hours yesterday just lying in the snow watching the world go past the bottom of the drive.  He doesn’t like the summer heat and hardly ever lies in front of the fire.  In this weather he likes to lie in the icy streams when out for a walk!  More snow expected? Zak will be pleased, especially if he gets to go tobogganing.  I think he thinks he’s a husky!

And did I mention the squirrel who is now sitting squirrel Nutkin fashion in the middle of the cage (designed to keep big birds/animals out) over a pile of seed.  Cute really!

2 thoughts on “Weather is a touch cooler now….

  1. Great post, really enjoyed reading it Jill 🙂 Your garden is a veritable wildlife sanctuary; wonderful selection of birds! And Zak is gorgeous! 😀

  2. jbbi says:

    Why thank you darlin Libby, you always say such nice things. We think Zak is gorgeous too and he is such an interactive dog – we talk to him all the time and he responds! He loves to help with jobs; fetching, carrying, taking messages… (if I could work out how to add a little emoticon here I would) xx

Leave a Reply

